RIVER YEALM & DISTRICT ASSOCIATION

Registered Charity No 262929.

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 7pm TUESDAY 23rd APRIL 2024 WI Hall Newton Ferrers

Present: Drew Stevens, Lesley Dempsey, Robin Forrester, Alan Lomax, Peggy Robinson, Peter Hall. 15+ members

also attended

Apologies: John & Jill Alexander, Chris & Suzannah Bradley, Barbara Geddes, Keith Hart, Carol Lumsden-Cook,

Christopher & Valerie Lunn, Derek & Thea Havery, Robin Hogg, John Horsman, Liz James, Duncan & Angela McPherson, David & Pam Raby, Suzanne Sparrow. Rosemary Watts, Chris Woodd-Walker, Liz Woodd-

Walker

The meeting commenced with an informative and entertaining talk by Coral Smith, Marine Awareness and Engagement Officer from Devon Wildlife Trust, Wembury Marine Centre Members will be informed separately of ways in which we can all help on the River Yealm.

- 1. Minutes of AGM of 25th April 2023 were approved.
- 2. Chairman's Report This was agreed and is attached with revisions to these Minutes. The Chairman gave a vote of thanks to the RYDA Committee for their support and help over the past. He then went on to summarise year's activities and that he was looking forward to co-Chairing with Alan Lomax in the next year. Main areas for future action are the Newton Voss railings and the push for new members to help with the Harbour Clean up in 2025.
- **3.** Adoption of the Accounts were approved and are attached to these Minutes. Proposed by Roger Hallett, seconded by George Buckland
- 4. Honorary Auditor. At the meeting, it was brought to the Committee's attention that the current Auditor, Veronica Ingram, is moving away and therefore we will need a replacement. Alan Lomax, Treasurer, has agreed to seek a replacement. The Committee would like to thank Veronica for all her hard work over the years. Proposed by Peter Hall seconded by Gary Fairclough
- 5. Election of Officers and Committee Members

Drew Stevens thanked all Committee members for their support during the last year. There being no further nominations the current Committee were elected en masse. Proposed by George Buckland, seconded Andrew Beveridge and the following are appointed to the Committee for 2024/2025:-

Chairman - Drew Stevens Honorary Secretary - Peggy Robinson

Honorary Treasurer

& Membership Secretary - Alan Lomax

Members - Christopher Bradley

- Lesley Dempsey (Website and Newsletters)

- Robin Forrester (Planning)

Peter Hall (Parking)

_

Prospective Members - Graham Edwards

- Gary Fairclough

Co-opted Member - Peter Faulkner (Village Directory)

Honorary Member - Suzanne Sparrow

The Chairman then opened the meeting to the floor.

There being no further business, the meeting closed at 8:10pm

Drew Stevens Chairman

23 April 2024